To Comfort The Afflicted
And Afflict The Comfortable

To Comfort The Afflicted And Afflict The Comfortable

Sunday, June 26, 2022


Sooner-Style Taliban


Kabul has fallen to the Taliban. Oklahoma did years ago.

Too strong a comparison? Not really.

Ignorance is the watchword for the madmen now in charge of that entire country and, while I can’t certify as to the mental stability of the elephants running this state into the ground, I can and will point out that Gov. Kevin Stitt and his party’s chairman, John Bennett, propose and support a bunch of nutty things.

For example, Clueless Kevin and his hod carriers in the Legislature passed legislation to outlaw the mandatory wearing of protective masks – should local circumstances dictate their necessity – by children as they return to school this fall.

When Bennett, and others, reminded over 4,000 of the Republican faithful attending their “Freedom Rally” Saturday in Oklahoma City of the new legislation, their remarks were met with raucous cheers and applause.

Of course, if some of the loyal pachyderms in attendance had wanted to see the results of the explosive spread of the delta variant, a visit to any of the city’s hospitals on Friday would have done the trick. All are full, including the pediatric beds, with sick and dying victims of the most deadly pandemic since the Spanish Flu of 1918.

But instead, our Republican neighbors and perhaps friends stood in line for hours to listen also for hours to a series of speakers who urged them in the most sincere tones to ignore the facts, the overwhelming scientific evidence and whatever is left of their common sense, and remain unvaccinated.

It’s freedom, don’t you know, but be sure and buckle up driving home. And also stop at the red lights; try to remember to use your turn signals, and remind your kids to also be careful when they are behind the wheel.

It’s dangerous out there, don’t you know.

Cal Hobson
Cal Hobson
Cal Hobson, a Lexington Democrat, served in the Oklahoma Legislature from 1978-2006, including one term as Senate President Pro Tempore.